Hooties!


You will need:

Newborn size:

3mm circular needles

Yarn in two colours – one for main body of Hootie, one for sole. 4ply or fingering weight would be good

Skills: magic loop, knitting, purling, cabling, picking up stitches

For a larger size, just increase needle size and yarn weight!

c4f means slip 2 st onto cable needle and hold in front. Knit next 2 st, then knit the 2 st from the cable needle.

c4b means the same, just hold the stitches at the back.

Using A, Cast on 26 stitches.

Join in the round, placing marker and being careful not to twist. k1 p1 rib for 8 rounds

k one round

[k2tog, yo, k1] repeat to last 2 stitches, then k2tog, yo

k one round

next row – setting up for chart. Adjust stitches so the 12 stitches for the owl are all on one needle.

k6, p2, k8, p2, turn

1. k2, p8, k2, turn

2. p2, c4f, c4b, p2, turn

3. k2 p8 k2, turn

4. p2 k8 p2, turn

5. K2 p1 k2 p2 k2 p1 k2, turn

6. p2 k1 p2 k2 p2 k1 p2, turn

7. k2 p8 k2, turn

8. p2, c4f, c4b, p2, turn

9. k2 p8 k2, turn

10. p2 k8 p2, turn

11. k2 p8 k2, turn

12. p2 k8 p2, turn

13. k2 p8 k2, turn

14. p2 k8 p2, turn

15. k2 p8 k2, turn

16. p2, c4f, c4b, p2 turn

17. k2 p8 k2, turn

18. p2 k8 p2, turn

k all 12 stitches

NB If you want to give the owl sequins or similar for eyes, sew them on at this stage.

Break yarn.

Connect yarn at start of instep and pick up 10 stitches along inside edge of instep, knit along 12 instep stitches, pick up 10 stitches along other side of instep, work remaining stitches.  Work 5 rounds in stocking stitch (46 stitches)

Change to B

Set up round – k1, place marker, k21, pm, k2, pm, k21, pm, k1

Decreasing for the sole:

p1 , slip marker, p2tog, p to 2 st from next marker, p2tog, sm, p2, sm, p2tog, p to 2 st from next marker, p2tog, p1

next round: k1, sm, k2tog, k to 2 st from next marker, k2tog, sm, k2, sm, k2tog, k to 2 sti from next marker, k2tog, k1

Continue like this until total of 22 st in round.

Turn Hootie inside out and kitchener remaining stitches together.

Weave in ends. Weave in ankle tie around the ankle holes.

Make as many as you need. This is usually dictated by the number of feet owned by the baby.

NB If you’d like a pdf of this pattern, leave me a message here – I’ll see it even if it doesn’t appear, and I’ll email it to you.

~ by Kedi Simpson on April 6, 2011.

8 Responses to “Hooties!”

  1. Aw they’re lovely Kedi!! I’m just finishing some “baby uggs” for a mate’s baby, I’ll have to give these a go next!

  2. Hi there! I LOVE your owl booties – would you mind sending me a pdf as you’d mentioned on Rav?. Thanks so very much!!!

  3. me, too! Pdf soooo cute! My grandbaby is a couple of months old already so I will size up these adorable hooties! Thanks

  4. Oh! What weight yarn do you recommend?

  5. How can I make them in adult size? I want a pair for myself 🙂

  6. Hi, Great pattern, however, I’m having some trouble with it.
    1. What do you mean by “c2f” and “c2b”? I looked them up but they have multiple meanings. Is it meant as CROSS 2 FRONT/BACK or CABLE 2…? Do you work each one over 2 or 4 stitches?
    2. The first time I tried, I knit just as the pattern suggests only TURNING my work when it said to. When I finished I didn’t know what I was looking at and there was no identifiable INSTEP to pickup any stitches from. The next time I tried I TURNED the work after each set of stitches (Sets 1-19), but it didn’t look right either (could be because I was working “c2f” and “c2b” over 2 sts each (not 4).
    3. Maybe I just need some perspective – as in what are rows 1-19 making.
    4. Looking ahead in the pattern, I don’t understand how there should be 46 sts after the step of picking up and knitting the instep sts…

    I hope someone can help, this is such a cute pattern. Thanks in advance.

  7. Very cute Booties. Can’t wait to make a pair.Thanks for sharing.

  8. Kedi now that I am finally to the point in the pattern where that first row is on the cable pattern, I am on the front needle with only 12 stitches, so I believe that very first row should be P2, K8, P2 and that that should actually be row #1 making the cable stitch section 19 rows instead of 18 and then the knit one row. Trying it, will let you know how it goes.

Leave a comment